13 Little Blue Envelopes

13-little-blue-envelopes

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Synopsis:  Would you follow the directions? Would you travel around the world? Would you open the envelopes one by one? Inside little blue envelope 1 are $1,000 and instructions to buy a plane ticket. Envelope 2 contains directions to a specific London flat. The note in envelope 3 tells Ginny: Find a starving artist. Because of envelope 4, Ginny and a playwright/thief/bloke-around-town called Keith go to Scotland together, with somewhat disastrous – yet utterly romantic – results. Everything about Ginny will change this summer, and it’s all because of the 13 little blue envelopes.

Why I picked it up: The cover and the synopsis. I have a dream to travel around the world, so this book was naturally intriguing. Also, I needed a book to read desperately. Was supposed to be my book for one of my trips, but decided to take a a peek and ended up reading it. Oops.

Review:

This book had everything going for it. EXCELLENT idea, cute cover, and it was ‘traveling book’. Nobody can say no to a ‘traveling book’.

elf-you-sit-on-a-throne-of-lies-3

So naturally I was disappointed. I wanted to love this book so much. But Ginny was so dry and I just felt she had no personality. Once Keith gets introduced, it goes downhill. He’s all the things you DON’T want to meet in a guy who lives in a foreign country. Some people might call him sweet. Well…no. I really don’t want to talk about him.

tangled-gif-2

This describes their relationship. Keith and Ginny. Sigh.

All of Ginny’s misadventures made me want to put the book down even more. I mean, yes, some of these happen, but no, they will most likely not happen in the same trip. I also didn’t like how she went without her parents. You are a high school student, and your parents are going to let you go on a trip to unknown foreign places BY YOURSELF?

ummm-no-gif

So through all of this, why didn’t I just put the book down? 2 reasons.

1. Maureen Johnson is a fantastic author. The writing was so descriptive, I just wish the story had been better.

2. Aunt Peg. Why, oh why, was she DEAD? Best character in the book hands down. Erratic, eccentric, always on the move…she would have made this book so much better. Why couldn’t she have been the one traveling? Maybe her personal story? I don’t care, as long as it was about Aunt Peg.

Final Grade: C-

I wanted to love this book. I had so much hope in it, but it let me down. I will most likely not read the sequel.

Sorry that my first book review is so harsh! I’m not always like this!!

2 thoughts on “13 Little Blue Envelopes

Leave a Reply

