Southern Fried Sushi

southern-fried-sushi

Southern Fried Sushi by Jennifer Rogers Spinola
Synopsis: Ride the rollercoaster of Shiloh Jacobs’s life as her dreams derail, sending her on a downward spiral from the heights of an AP job in Tokyo to penniless in rural Virginia. Trapped in a world so foreign to her sensibilities and surrounded by a quirky group of friends, will she break through her hardened prejudices before she loses those who want to help her? Can she find the key to what changed her estranged mother’s life so powerfully before her death that she became a different woman—and can it help Shiloh too?

Why I Picked It Up: My mom recently read it and said I HAD to read it. Always ready to start a recommended book, I happily obliged.

Review:

I started this book thinking that I would like it. Probably a cute book with the cheesy “life-changing experience” story. I was amazingly surprised.

It starts out slow, but the story DEFINITELY builds. Shiloh is a fantastic main character, with all the doubts we know we have, the pent up anger we have learned to release. I also throughly enjoy her sass. Yes, at times it is tedious. But that’s what makes her who she is.

All of her mom’s friends just make it better. I LOVE the South and the people there. They will cross the street and start a conversation, that’s for sure.

Yes, it is a book about how Shiloh discovers what she needs. Yes, it was a “life-changing experience book”. But it wasn’t cheesy. It was a honest story, and I found myself relating to Shiloh. When you can relate to the main character, it’s a good sign.

The writing is awesome. Vivid, sweet, with a touch of reality (Always need to have that in there. Who knows why…) ;)

But seriously, READ THIS BOOK! It goes onto my favorites shelf!

Final Grade: A

I wasn’t expecting this. I am so glad I picked it up.

P.S. I have a hard time reviewing books I love, I find it’s easier to say what’s wrong with books than to say what’s right!

One thought on “Southern Fried Sushi

  1. kristinemillerdesign says:

    I am so happy you liked this book! I really felt the writing was witty and honest. I love the way it shows how surrounding yourself with the good, faithful people can influence you into making good and faithful choices. Being honest and kind is not always an easy choice but the people who love you because of it are the people you want to be in your life. I can’t wait to see what you think of the rest of the series. :)

Leave a Reply

