Little Women And Me

little-women-and-me

Little Women And Me by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Synopsis:  Everyone knows Little Women could have gone differently… Amy needs to be taught a lesson. Jo’s the one destined for the boy next door. And Beth – well, you know. When Emily March gets mysteriously transported into the world of the other March sisters, she discovers that righting fictional wrongs won’t be easy… especially after developing a crush on the very boy she planned to save for Jo. And after living in a time and place so different from her own it may be Emily – not the four March sisters – who undergoes the most surprising change of all.

Why I picked it up: Who wouldn’t? Seriously, I have always wanted to change books, I mean, haven’t we all? And you know I’m a sucker for cool covers. The first four sentences of the synopsis were also hilarious because they strike exactly at what frustrates me about the book.

Review:

This book had a lot of great things going on. A sassy speak-her-mind main character. A modern-times girl having to live in the 1800s. Jo March.

But then the story started. Don’t get me wrong; I really did like this book. But I think I know what was wrong. I had just started re-reading Little Women when I bought this book. I started it right away, and so for a while it was boring, because I knew what was going to happen.

bored-gif

So once I got past the parts that I had just read, I liked it A LOT more. For those of you who love Little Women, make sure it’s been a while since you have read it before you read this.

Other than that, I thought the writing was really witty and Emily such a fun and strong character. It certainly changed my outlooks on the characters, especially Jo. Kind of still unsure how I feel about that.

Watching Emily change so quickly is amazing to see through the words, and I love how she loved Beth (and eventually all the characters).

The plot twist was incredibly surprising, and I won’t spoil it for you all and say what it was.

There was a part where she was sort of… weird with Laurie, but nothing PG-13. Just…strange.

oh-no-gif

She also had some iffy thoughts, but only borderline between PG and PG-13.

All in all, this book did itself justice. The writing was cute and the idea was fantastic. Emily turned into a new person. And the March sisters were as splendid as always.

Final Grade: B

I would read this book again. Don’t think it earns a spot on my favorites, but pretty close.

One thought on “Little Women And Me

Leave a Reply

