Divergent

Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011

Divergent by Veronica Roth

*Note: I’m going to do this review a little bit different then usual. Instead of listing the synopsis, why I picked it up, the review, and final grade, I’m going to do the synopsis, why I picked it up, how I started off, what I liked, what I didn’t like, and final grade (The italics are the new parts).*

Synopsis: In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

Why I Picked It Up: I saw the trailer for the movie a while ago, and asked for it for Christmas.

How I Started Off: What I was hoping to accomplish by reading this book was being able to see the movie without guilt. I always feel bad when I see the movie without reading the book. That being said, I wasn’t expecting to fall in love with this book. I wasn’t expecting to live Tris’ life with her. But I did. 

I’ll admit, it took me a while to get into it. I maybe read five pages on Christmas and then gave up. I honestly had no idea what it was about, either. I didn’t even look at the back. So I’m not surprised I was incredibly confused…

After I went back and started really reading it, you couldn’t tear me away.

What I Liked:

Let me just start off with Tris. That girl has major gumption. She also has such daring nerve which I wish I had.

I also loved the different factions. I feel like we could easily sort most of the people of our world into them, but we would also have divergents. The entire idea of the book really grasped me, and it wouldn’t let go. One choice decides your future? C’mon.

I thought Four was just mysterious enough to capture my attention, confusing enough to make me groan in frustration. He was a great love interest for Tris, but notice how I said Four and not Tobias. I kind of stopped liking him after Tris found out his real name. Well, it’s not like I didn’t like him as much as I didn’t like…whoops. Got to save that for later.

My favorite part was probably the Dauntless. I just loved how brave and rash and daring they were. One minute you jump off a train onto a building, the next you’re jumping off said building. All in one chapter. They just amazed me with their nerve.

What I Didn’t Like:

As I stopped myself short of saying earlier, I didn’t like Tobias and Tris’ relationship. No, that’s not right either. I didn’t like Tris’ fear. Yes, that’s it. I didn’t feel like that was necessary to the story at all. I don’t feel like their relationship needed that. Tris and Four were cute; Tris and Tobias were too…fast for me. I understand, he’s liked you for a while. You’ve liked him for a while. But that doesn’t mean you are immediately afraid of intimacy with him. I mean, I would be fine if she was afraid of him wanting/making her be intimate, but that’s not what she was afraid of. In my opinion, you shouldn’t even be thinking about that. This isn’t Twilight.

Roll_eyes

Besides that, language wasn’t bad. And despite what that rant might sound like, there was no intimacy besides kissing. Thank goodness. There is quite a lot of violence…someone gets stabbed in the eye, somebody commits suicide, shooting, etc.

Final Grade: A- (The minus is only there for the reasons above)

I loved this book and it’s definitely going on my favorites shelf.

4 thoughts on “Divergent

  1. Miranda says:

    I always love reading your reviews because I know that they’re going to be honest with humor. Those two things are a great combination.

Leave a Reply

