Insurgent

insurgent

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Synopsis: One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love. Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

insurgent-2

Just thought this needed to be included.

Why I Picked It Up: After Divergent, I don’t think you can not pick this up. Luckily my brother already had it waiting for me.

How I Started Off: I went into this book to read the sequel to Divergent. I definitely had huge expectations, and I started off strong.

What I Liked:

The first thing that struck me (obviously, because of Tris’ trip to the Amity compound) in a good way was I loved how we were getting to see the other Faction areas. In Divergent I continually caught myself wondering what the other initiations were like. Although we didn’t necessarily get to see the other initiations, I really liked being able to see the Amity, Candor, and Erudite compounds since in Divergent we only saw the Dauntless and Abnegation areas.

I also liked the increased size of the cast of characters. Uriah, Lynn, and Zeke got more attention, and I felt like Uriah especially was fun to have in the book.

Surprisingly, I really enjoyed when Tris turned herself over to the Erudite. And when Tobias came…oh boy. Right in the heart.

tumblr_luxe4yc8aa1r6aoq4o1_250

You might be able to tell that I liked their relationship a lot more in Insurgent than in Divergent. I just felt it was more…real? Honest? Ha. Honesty; the one thing their relationship didn’t have in Insurgent. Whatever it was, I liked it.

What I Didn’t Like:

There was just sooo much plot. It was too overwhelming at times. I truly applaud Veronica for being able to keep all the different things going on straight. However, it was a tad hard at times for me to keep it straight. I was really impressed with how much there was. Don’t get me wrong; I was. I just had trouble trying to remember what was going on.

*SPOILER. I WILL TELL YOU WHEN IT IS OVER. SPOILER*

Two words:

Caleb. Prior.

One word:

Betrayal.

I had no idea it was coming. And that was the part I liked. The part I didn’t like was that he was Tris’ only family, her only living connection to her parents, and he betrayed her.

I can’t even.

*SPOILER OVER. Safe now!*

Moving on…

I absolutely despised the whole Evelyn-and-factionless thing. Completely. It made me upset for some reason. I don’t really know why I didn’t like it as much as I did, but they just felt unnecessary while being necessary to the story.

The last thing I didn’t like was Tris’ recklessness. Tobias continually took the fall for her actions, and if she was so intent on making her parents proud, she could have tried harder to stay alive. I did like that she realized it was wrong eventually (not sure if it was in Allegiant or Insurgent – I am currently reading Allegiant) and how much she would lose if she did die.

I don’t think the language is bad in this one (I’ve already caught some questionable language in Allegiant), but obviously it is très violent. No intimacy either, besides some intense kissing.

Final Grade: B

You will find I didn’t like quite a lot of things, so you might be wondering: Why did she give it such a good grade if she has more things she didn’t like than she did? Although I didn’t like the things I said I didn’t like (I know, I know) I felt that they each contributed in some way to the story. When I focused on them alone, I found myself shaking my head, but when I looked at them all together in the story they made sense.

In the end, Insurgent made it on my favorites shelf with Divergent.

2 thoughts on “Insurgent

  1. Kayla says:

    This review is so true! I felt ya on so many levels. Thanks for having an honest review that is hard to come by these days.

Leave a Reply

