Stats: How Do They Affect Searching The Clouds? More Importantly…If I Mention Star Wars, Will I Get More Views?

Screen shot 2014-01-19 at 3.38.30 PM

(Feel free to click to enlarge. The light blue is the views, and the dark blue is the visitors)

Above is Searching The Clouds’ views and visitors for the five months that it has been on the World Wide Web.

Hmmm. Interesting.

As you can see, I had the highest amount of visitors in November, along with the highest number of views. In November I published my interview of Heather Vogel Frederick, and she linked to my blog with her blog, the main reason I got so many visitors/views. I don’t think January has been very eventful, yet it was still the month with the second most amount of views.

Hmmm. Interesting.

Screen shot 2014-01-19 at 3.47.40 PM

Here are my most popular topics I have written about.

Apparently my reviews and blog features are popular, namely my two reviews of Divergent and Insurgent. Also, (surprisingly to me) my Wednesday Playlist was viewed as well.

Should that be my blog feature of 2014? I would be killing two birds with one stone – my 2o14 resolution to start a blog feature and my whole purpose of this post, to find out how to capture a few more viewers. Should I try to start something that might become as successful as Top Ten Tuesdays? Or would it flop like my Pin It! Mondays?

Hmmm. Interesting.

Screen shot 2014-01-19 at 3.55.49 PM

 

And finally here are my top 12 most viewed posts.

I was surprised about most of these, especially my About page and my Under Construction! post.

Hmmm. Interesting.

(Below is just a bonus – skip it if you’d like)

 

Screen shot 2014-01-19 at 3.44.00 PM

 

This doesn’t have anything to do with my stats, really, but I thought it was cool how I have gotten views from all over the world (I was especially excited about my 1 view in Latvia – awesome!)

 

Anyway, at this point you all might be wondering…what does this have to do with Star Wars? Well, I was thinking. Since my Divergent tags got some of the most views and my Evening with Heather Vogel Frederick got some of the most views and visitors, maybe mentioning something that is well-known and liked will get your blog more views and visitors.

I am going to do some experiments, and let you know how it goes. In order for this to work, I will need you to visit my blog whenever the fancy strikes you. Do as you normally do. You might not even be able to tell.

Check back in a month? Does that sound right? Maybe just 4 weeks.

I’m excited to see how my little experiment works out.

Oh, and as a part of my research I’m going to use some random but popular tags to see if that causes STC to get more views/visitors.

Hmmm. Interesting.

9 thoughts on “Stats: How Do They Affect Searching The Clouds? More Importantly…If I Mention Star Wars, Will I Get More Views?

  1. Jane Blogger says:

    Well your interview with me was a flop :P And I mention it a LOT on my blog. I think you should continue doing more book reviews. They’re fun!

    • rosetyler01 says:

      I think if you had posted your interview with me on your blog we would have had more traffic. After all, your blog is a tad more well-known than mine. Maybe you could write up the interview this weekend. I love doing book reviews, but they do take a while to write.

Leave a Reply

