Ruby Red

ruby-red

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Synopsis: Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon—the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Why I Picked It Up: My mom bought this for me for Christmas.

How I Started Off: Slowly. This book took me a while to get into, and I often read other books instead of it.

What I Liked: 

Gwyneth. Funny and clever, she certainly captured my attention. I loved that she was herself and was not afraid to be so. Her family was definitely…interesting.

Maybe intriguing is a better word.

I really liked the fact that when it started off you were sort of tricked into thinking this was just another story about another regular girl (despite what the cover and synopsis said). And then, so quickly you barely had a chance to catch your breath, these things happened:

– You found out she could see (and talk) to ghosts

– You found out her family were time travelers

– You found out her sister had the said gene for time travel

-And then, when you thought you couldn’t handle anymore, you found out it was actually Gwyneth that had the gene

Bam! Out of nowhere, a plot.

The story, although it took a while to get into, builds like crazy.

Oh, and I can’t forget about Gideon. He was a huge Mr. Darcy, and had no problem insulting Gwyneth while she was right there.

merida-frustrated-gif

But, in true Mr. Darcy fashion, *SPOILER* he slowly (hopefully – we’ll have to see in the sequel) fell in love with Gwen. *SPOILER*

Aww_zps3509580d

That was one of my favorite parts.

What I Didn’t Like:

Lady Arista. So your grandmother ignores you practically your entire life because your cousin has the super cool time travel gene, and then she finds out you have it. And suddenly, she loves you.

rolling-eyes-gif-2

 

I also was unsure of the ending. It just seemed too…fake. For some reason I have an odd feeling that Gideon is going to end up using Gwyneth. We’ll see.

The beginning was sort of…tedious. Hang in there until you get to the first time Gwyneth goes back in time with Gideon.

What Isn’t Liked: No language that I can recall. There is some kissing, but that’s pretty much it.

Final Grade: B

There wasn’t a lot that I really didn’t like in this book. I just didn’t like most of the first half.

Besides that, this book was both witty and interesting. Maybe not on my favorites shelf, but pretty close.

 

One thought on “Ruby Red

Leave a Reply

