Top Ten Tuesday: Trends I’d Like To See Less/More Of

top-ten-tuesday

Hosted by Broke and Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday Rewind today, which means I can pick any topic from past topics I might have missed. I picked trends because there are so many I want to see more of and so many I want to see less of.

I Want More:

1. Secret Identities

Whether it’s characters finding out they are a prince/princess (looking at you, Princess Diaries) or characters that are super-secret spies, I love books with characters that have a secret identity.

2. Audiobooks

I need audiobooks. First of all, you can do other things while reading – you can cook, clean, paint your nails, the possibilities are endless! Second, the people who read them can be amazing. When I was younger I used to listen to Harry Potter ALL THE TIME. Not because I hadn’t read it (which I had, many, many times) but because the readers can add something different to the story.

3. Historical Fiction

I loved, loved, loved Cinders & Sapphires (read my review here)! The whole Downton Abbey feeling really appeals to me, and it’s something I definitely want to see more of.

4. Unlikely Friends

I know, I know, there are a ton of books with this. Maybe I should be sick of it by now, but I’m not quite finished with it yet. There is just something so fun about watching people who are complete opposites become best friends.

5. Big Families

They’re just the best. The way they look out for each other, tease each other relentlessly, and yet still manage to live under one crazy roof. What more can be said?

6. Strong Female Leads

There is almost nothing I like better than an independent, feisty female character.

I Want Less:

7. Dystopian Settings

Please. It is tiring. I don’t quite understand why it seems that authors have the idea that our society is going to crumble sometime in the near future. There are certain books in which I  can take this, (Divergent, Cinder, The Selection) because their main focus is not always on the city.

8. Girl’s Life Changing Because of Boy

Ugh. How cliché. This is so, so overused. I am happy to say there are a ton of books out there that have stopped doing this, but I still see it far too often for my taste.

9. Cancer Stories

These types of stories can be done very well (The Fault In Our Stars), but what I have seen a lot lately are books that just add it on there to turn a love story into a tragic love story.

C’mon. You’re not Shakespeare.

10. Books With No Point

This may sound a little harsh, but I’m tired of books that have no moral. Books that have no plot. Please, just give me a couple of twists and at least one thing I can take away from the book.

What trends do you want to see more/less of?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Trends I’d Like To See Less/More Of

  1. Barb says:

    I agree with all but #2 (They read too slowly! Who has time???) and #9 (I just reviewed MAYBE ONE DAY by Melissa Kantor. It was AMAZING!! No romance, though just a lot of #3, #4 & #5. You will love it and cry like a baby!!

Leave a Reply

