The Monuments Men: A Confused Viewer’s Mini Review

The-Monuments-Men-1

On Saturday I went to see The Monuments Men. I was really excited because my German teacher (Frau Optimist) had told us how amazing it was. It had Matt Damon and George Clooney in it too, which also made me eager to watch it. But while I was sitting in the theater watching it, my thoughts kept straying from the movie. I found myself thinking about what I had to do for homework, what we were going to have for dinner, etc. So after the movie I used the excuse that it was “boring” for me.

This is where you shake your head in disgust.

When the movie ended, I decided I didn’t like it. My mom had gone with me, and she had loved it so I couldn’t figure out why I didn’t like it. I made up tons of reasons in my mind, some of which included:

-“Well, it was because people died” (People die in every movie…)

-“Well, it was because of that weird French girl” (Okay, that one’s kind of true)

“Well it was because…you know…Hitler!” (I can’t explain that one)

So my verdict, right after the movie, was that I did not like it.

Then, today I was thinking even more about it, and I decided I had made a hasty decision. I actually liked it!

Talk about confusing.

I guess The Monuments Men and I just needed a long distance relationship to make it work. So final verdict is:

Great movie. I love the setting, love the concept, love the actors. There were a few moments that I didn’t like, but it made me happy in the end. Go see this movie!

Have you ever seen a movie that you didn’t like but then decided you did like it? Or vice versa?

4 thoughts on “The Monuments Men: A Confused Viewer’s Mini Review

  1. drowninmelancholy says:

    Yupp. Borat for example. When I first watched it, I didn’t like it, but that was because I didn’t understand it. I have to admit his humour is not for everyone. It might seem offending, but it actualyy isn’t meant to.
    A clockwork orange and A requiem for a dream were also movies where I wasn’t sure if I liked them or not. They are, without doubt, very good films, but I am not sure if I ever want to watch them again.

Leave a Reply

