Scarlet

scarlet-1

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Synopsis: Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Why I Picked It Up: I liked Cinder and you can’t just leave that huge cliffhanger…well…hanging.

How I Started Off: Another slow start for me. The books I have been reading these days have been dragging along towards the beginning for some reason. But it definitely builds.

What I Liked:

Um, everything?

Let me start with the characters.

I really admired that Scarlet was willing to do anything for her grandmother, but at times I thought she was just being reckless which can be annoying. Besides that Scarlet was a great heroine and I am totally jealous of her hair.

Her relationship with Wolf was something I really liked. It was fast, sure, but there was hardly any really intimacy besides kissing and the scene at the end of the book was really sweet. Scarlet was willing to forgive him and Wolf was willing to be forgiven.

Wolf. Oh, Wolf.

swoon-gif-2

I think I did all of these reactions throughout the book.

I was so excited for Cinder to be in the book, too, because in most sequels the author would just completely leave the previous heroine out of the story, but I LOVED how Cinder was tied in. I think that Marissa Meyer did a really good job of having Cinder and Scarlet’s stories seem completely separate and then slowly making them meet. I applaud her for doing something so difficult like that.

The plot of the book had so many twists and turns that I could barely keep up, and I loved it. I can’t say much about the end of the book without giving it away, but, much to my surprise, I actually really liked the gigantic twist at the end and I felt that it was definitely necessary to the story. But of course, I’m still like this:

shocked-gif-1

What I Didn’t Like:

“Captain” Thorne was too clichĂ© for me. He sort of made me irritated, so he was the only character I didn’t like.

There was a death that I didn’t like because *SPOILER* I felt it defeated everything Scarlet worked towards. *SPOILER*

I didn’t like Kai in Cinder so it didn’t come as a surprise that I didn’t like him in this book either. It might sound a little mean, but I felt that he was complaining too much.

gif

SOMEBODY FINALLY SAID IT! <—- (That was put there by my friend)

Hey, don’t hate me, but honestly? He needed to stop being whiny and figure out how to deal with the crisis. I mean, I completely understand his situation (being thrown on the spot after his father’s death, the huge thing at the end of the book) but he could have handled it a lot better.

What Isn’t Liked: A lot of animalistic violence. Some of it made me cringe, but it wasn’t too horrible. No language that I can recall. The romance was bordering PG-13, but nothing really besides kissing.

Final Grade: A

Here’s the thing: READ SCARLET. You will (obviously) have to read Cinder first, and even though it was a boring read for me, it is worth it to be able to understand what was going on in Scarlet. I liked Scarlet better than Cinder, and I almost never like a sequel more than the original. So, in short, go get Cinder and then go get Scarlet and then you will hardly be able to wait until you finally get Cress.

This is me right now, without Cress:

i-need-it-gif-1

3 thoughts on “Scarlet

Leave a Reply

