Divergent – Two Fangirls’ Experiences

So… I went to see Divergent on Saturday with my very good friend, the Epitome of Grace, and my amazing mom.

yeah-gif-1

That was basically the Epitome of Grace and I during the car ride to the movies.

And since we had such a fun time, we decided to continue the party by having the Epitome of Grace give her opinions as well! Here is a little introductory paragraph, written by her:

grace-1   Hi! I am the Epitome of Grace! Nice to meet you all! I think you should all know a few things about me: I love swimming, reading, talking and most of all laughing! I am a ENORMOUS Divergent fangirl (like my good friend Rose) and I am very excited to be sharing my opinions with you!

Thanks, the Epitome of Grace!

Okay, so, Divergent.

Can we just take a moment to say it was IN.CRED. IBLE. ?

Oh, and that’s not all. We decided to dress up for the faction we fit into. We chose to be mainly dauntless, but also divergent with some touches of the other factions. Here is what I wore:

photo-49

Since my entire outfit was pretty dauntless, I decided to paint my nails a dark turquoise for erudite.

photo-47

And here’s what the Epitome of Grace wore:

photo-47

Tris actually wore a shirt like hers in the movie, and we both got really excited.

My mom also drew Tris’ tattoo of the three birds on us, which turned out really well:

photo

This is it before being filled in.

photo

And after.

(For those who are wondering, we used waterproof eyeliner)

Then it was time to put on a little eye make-up – “Who cares about pretty? I’m going for noticeable.” -Divergent – which practically means we put on eyeliner because we thought it was very dauntless-esque.

We loaded up with some yummy snacks before we left, which included:

  • Cheddar pretzels
  • Cracker Jack
  • Mike and Ikes
  • Peanut Butter M&M’s

And, of course, some soda for each of us.

We were off!

The Epitome of Grace and I were fangirling the entire car ride, and it was the most my mom could do to stay sane.

Right before we went into the theater we went over to the Dollar Tree at the mall and got blue glow sticks. According to something I saw on Pinterest, book fans were supposed to separate themselves from movie fans by waving them in the air at the end of the movie. For us, it was an excuse to get glow sticks. Nobody else had them, which was a little disappointing, but it is SO much fun to have glow sticks at a movie! We stayed in the theater after everybody had left (giving us dirty looks on their way out) and danced around. I recommend bringing glow sticks to your next movie experience!

My opinion on the movie: One word: amazing. It included much of the book (though movie-fied, as the Epitome of Grace and I said) and besides the fact that it left out a key plot point for me (Edward getting stabbed) it was still a really good adaptation. There were so many things that did stay true to the book that I thought were even better in the movie than they were in the book, like when Tris went zip lining. That scene was really amazing, and it was even more touching after having read Allegiant. So, in my opinion, it was one of the best movie adaption of a book.

The Epitome of Grace’s opinion on the movie: I absolutely loved the movie. The actors really channeled their characters well based on the book. The movie followed the book incredibly well, based on how much detail there is in the book from being inside the mind of Tris. However, I wished that certain tidbits and people *cough Uriah cough* were included. Where the movie took away parts they added some too, such as Tris doing something to Jeanine (which by the way nobody in the theater expected – there was a huge collective gasp). Overall I believe that the movie was an excellent portrayal of the book.

Our verdict:

Rose says: If you read the book, go see this movie. If you didn’t read the book, read the book and then go see this movie.

The Epitome of Grace says: I agree with Rose 100% , READ THE BOOK FIRST. Then, for all of the other Divergent book fans, I encourage you to go and see the movie.

 

Thank you, the Epitome of Grace! It was so much fun to experience this with you.

A shout-out to my mom, who endured our squee-ing to come with us. You’re the best!

Oh, and on a side note I thought the soundtrack was amazing as well. My favorite song on the soundtrack was I Need You by M83. The same song that was playing when Tris went zip lining, as it so happens…

Insurgent is supposedly coming out on March 20, 2015, and we will be posting about it then too! Same for Allegiant!

Quick Announcements:

To celebrate this momentous occasion that is kicking off two more posts (which won’t be for a while, sadly), I will be hosting a giveaway. Look for more details the following days!

The Epitome of Grace is going to be a guest blogger! The date is undecided. We just need to get together the post, so keep an eye open for that.

Like mentioned before, I am going to Walt Disney World. I have said that I was going to be blogging every day straight from Disney, but I am not sure if I will have the energy after being in the parks all day. I’m trying to figure out a way for it to work, so just sit tight until I can get the details straightened out.

9 thoughts on “Divergent – Two Fangirls’ Experiences

  1. Seraphina Quest says:

    “Tris actually wore a shirt like hers in the movie” It was actually a shout-out of that actress. In the first ep of Serlock, S3, he said something that I tweeted about him, word for word. It was also a shout out. They know we’re here. ;)

      • Seraphina Quest says:

        Let’s see… It was about an article in which Benedict was talking about “dealing with the strain” of being hot or something, and I replied, “We all have our crosses to bear, Benedict.” In The Empty Hearse, Sherlock said that exact line: “We all have our crosses to bear,” I think in response to something about Mycroft.
        I felt like he was talking to me, like he was winking at me. So few people use that exact line, and I had used it, and then he had, and…
        So I just fangirled out a bit. :)

Leave a Reply

