Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

top-ten-tuesday

Hosted by Broke and Bookish

There have been a multitude of books that made me stop reading for a second and say whoa. Of course, I plunge back in right after…

Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-1

1. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I think this book was the spark of many books about greek mythology. This was the first I read of any greek mythology and such in the present, and I wasn’t expecting it when I picked it up.

the-neverending-story-1

2. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

The entire book is just one incredible thing after another. And you definitely don’t expect the mythical, magical things that occur.

dont-expect-magic-1

3. Don’t Expect Magic by Kathy McCullough

Her father is a fairy godmother. Enough said.

cinder-1

4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

So…it’s a fairytale retelling…but it’s dystopian…

Um, yeah. Unique alright.

11-birthdays-1

5. 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass

I read this book a while ago (around 4/5 years ago) and what I mainly remember is how I was glad it wasn’t a usual YA book. Basically the main character and her friend get stuck repeating their birthday day over and over – they are frozen in time, and nobody but them realizes it. Very different, and very unique.

the-face-on-the-milk-carton-1

6. The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B. Cooney

Creepily unique.

ruby-red

7. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

The main character finds out she has the ability to travel in time and her family is apart of a sketchy secret organization that cares about the blood of time travelers.

the-hobbit-1

8. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein

I say the same for all of the other Lord of the Rings books.

when-you-reach-me-1

9. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

It has an “A Wrinkle in Time” vibe going on. Since “A Wrinkle in Time” is unique enough, this book slightly stepped it up.

girl-stolen-1

10. Girl Stolen by April Henry

Very intense, very frightening, very unique.

What are the most unique books you’ve ever read?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. famouslyfamousity says:

    I’ve read When You Reach Me at the suggestion of a friend I though it was very good maybe even better than A Wrinkle in Time. I Am Not A Serial Killer by Dan Wells is definitely a unique book I’ve read. It’s a little supernatural mixed with horror and suspense.

    • Rose Tyler says:

      I LOVED When You Reach Me! It definitely is one of my favorites. Hmm, I’ve never heard of that book, but consider it on my TBR list! Thanks for commenting! :)

Leave a Reply

