Weekly Book Haul #1

weekly-book-haul

I’ve decided to start a new feature listing which books I read, borrowed (and returned), and bought during the week. After I list the ones I returned, I’m going to do tiny blurbs about them, sort of like a short mini-review. I’m going to call it Weekly Book Haul, and I’m going to do it every other Saturday. If you want to participate, just

-Use the image above

-Link back to my blog somewhere in your post

-And let me know you did it – I would love to check it out!

I didn’t buy any books this week, but I returned quite a few.

What I Returned (And Read):

IMG_0153

Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt – This was a reread. Surprisingly, I found I liked a lot better than I did the first time! Mallory didn’t annoy me, and since I enjoyed her POV the book was a lot easier to settle into.

Six Months Later by Natalie Richards – Still not sure what I think about this one. I’m kind of in shock, because the ending went so fast and so much was revealed at once.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – (Strikeouts means I didn’t finish it) In the first chapter of this book it mentions a girl letting a boy “touch her bare bottom”, homosexuality, and (I’m not sure about this one – I have a faint memory of it, but I don’t know if it’s true or not) wedlock. Now, if one of those things were mentioned it probably wouldn’t be a problem for me, but combined it went against what I like. Needless to say, I put it down.

This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith – You can read my review of this one here.

That Time I Joined the Circus by J.J. Howard – It didn’t interest me at all. I always choose one book from the library just based on the cover, and this was the one for this week. Sometimes I get books I love, sometimes I get DNFs.

What I Borrowed:

IMG_0156

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski – Currently reading and loving.

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

The Program by Suzanne Young (The book I got based on the cover)

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman

That’s it for this week’s book haul! I hope you all had a good week, filled with tea and reading and cozy feelings.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Book Haul #1

  1. Emma says:

    THE WINNER’S CURSE IS AMAZING. *ahem* I’ll calm down now, haha. I wasn’t a fan of Side Effects May Vary or The Program, but I know many people who liked the latter. And I’m currently reading These Broken Stars. :)

Leave a Reply

