These Broken Stars

these-broken-stars-1

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – DNF

Synopsis: It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

Why I Picked It Up: Definitely the cover. I’m totally head over heels for it.

What I Liked…and Didn’t Like: I don’t quite know where to begin with this book. It all went so…fast. I was expecting a Gravity-ish feel (I suppose it was because of how it mentioned space in the synopsis) but was greeted instead with a Hatchet-survival book. Even though that made me a bit disappointed right off the bat, Lilac and Tarver were such strong characters that I shrugged and kept reading.

The mystery and suspense of it was probably my favorite part. Oh, but the imagery! These writers were absolutely amazing at the way they molded the world and made it seem like you were there.

Though these things made me love the book, there were several things that did not. For instance, the whole ghost situation drove me crazy. I tend to stay away from those types of things.

It was great how you didn’t know what was going to happen next – in fact, there was only one thing that I guessed during the entire book. Yes, opposites attract – books have taught me that much, and that is all I am going to say about what I guessed.

Also, this book became a DNF because of the huge spoiler that happened around 3/4 of the way into the book. I put it down right then and there, because honestly *SPOILER* Lilac was the only thing keeping me reading the book. *SPOILER*

I didn’t like how Tarver acted. Firstly with his relationship with Lilac in the beginning (I don’t care if he didn’t like her, it was a survival situation) then the middle (seriously? You have known each other for what – 2 weeks?) and then at the end, even though that was a bit more understandable.

You Should Know: Language is pretty mild, if I remember right. Romance is non-descriptive, but yes, there is intimacy besides kissing.

Who I Would Recommend It To: Fans of survival stories, mysteries, fantasies, romances…this book is great for a wide range of audiences. Basically if you like 1-2 of the genres above, I would give it a try.

Final Grade: C+

There were a lot of things that I adored about this book. However, the huge thing that happened made me unable to look at it with the same eyes. I may be too harsh a critic, seeing how many other people loved it, but even though I wasn’t too big of a fan, I would definitely recommend it to a bunch of my friends.

If you want a survival book that has unpredictable twists and turns, These Broken Stars is for you.

 

Leave a Reply

