The Chaos of Stars

the-chaos-of-stars-1

The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

Synopsis: Isadora’s family is seriously screwed up—which comes with the territory when you’re the human daughter of the ancient Egyptian gods Isis and Osiris. Isadora is tired of living with crazy relatives who think she’s only worthy of a passing glance—so when she gets the chance to move to California with her brother, she jumps on it. But her new life comes with plenty of its own dramatic—and dangerous—complications . . . and Isadora quickly learns there’s no such thing as a clean break from family.

Why I Picked It Up: Again with the cover. I have a serious problem with checking out books from the library solely based on their covers.

What I Liked…and Didn’t Like: When I started this book I was annoyed by Isadora. She complained to no end, thought violent thoughts towards her pregnant mother, and was altogether suicidal. You know, because she didn’t want to die.

what-gif-1

Also, can we talk about her relationship with her mother? I understand that Isadora wouldn’t “listen”, but seriously, her mother is completely lacking in the parenting department for someone who has so many kids. Letting your daughter believe that you want/don’t care about her dying is ridiculous. However, the story takes a turn. Right around the part when Isadora finds out a certain someone’s name is a nickname for something significant, I stared falling in love with the book.

Ry was definitely my favorite character. He saved this book from becoming a DNF, mostly with the mystery that surrounded him. Also, he had some extremely poetic quotes. But Isadora, honey, you can stop talking about his eyes.

The plot was so simple. Basically she complains that her family stinks until she finds out her mom is pregnant and goes back to complaining that her family stinks until she goes to California to see her brother where she finds out he got married without telling her and she goes back to complaining that her family stinks…it goes on like that for a while. The best part of the plot was probably the last few chapters or so.

I really liked how each chapter started with an Egyptian mythology story. It was interesting to read, and I’ve always thought that old mythology was fun to read. The writing style was a little too middle school-ish for my taste. It didn’t bother me too much, but it did take away from my reading experience.

There were some beautiful quotes that I adored, and here’s my favorite:

It’s all a matter of perspective. And maybe we thought we were living one story, when if we look at it a little different, we can reframe everything – all out memories and attributes and experiences – and see that we’re actually living a different story. ”

It sums up the message of the book pretty well.

You Should Know: A quick thing to remember is the mythology in this book. If you don’t like that sort of thing, I wouldn’t read it. However, it didn’t bother me at all. Language didn’t really stand out to me, so it must not have been too bad. I think the worst is the s-word. There is kissing, and along with the Egyptian myths are mentions of sex and such.

Who I Would Recommend It To: Most middle schoolers who read a bit above their grade level. I think it’s a good summer reading book for kids who don’t read as often. Also, if you like mythology and YA, you’ll probably like this book.

Final Grade: B-

Basically, the beginning and middle are okay, but the end is amazing. The characters are okay, but can be a little tiresome at times. Not a book that I would shove at people, but maybe tell fans of mythology about.

If you like easy reads with deep messages behind them, or YA mythology, you’ll like The Chaos of Stars.

4 thoughts on “The Chaos of Stars

  1. bittenanwritten says:

    My first thought about this book was how beautiful the cover was as well! In fact, I’m pretty sure that’s why it’s on my TBR haha! I think I’ll definitely reserve this book for a beach read from the sounds of it. Do you think the annoying character was intentional or she was just genuinely annoying to you? Sometimes I find I like when a main character annoys me and at other times I’m like ‘please tell me this character dies in the end’.

    • Rose Tyler says:

      The cover is absolutely gorgeous! Probably one of the best covers of 2013. It’s definitely easy to read in a day or so, when you are in between heavy books. Isadora wasn’t one of those characters where you can’t wait for something bad to happen to them. She really was only annoying to me in the beginning, because of how she acted towards her parents. She got better as the book progressed, she just got on my nerves a little in the first couple of chapters. Her insight is actually pretty humorous at times. To sum it up, I would recommend this book, since it had a nice message that was hidden by easy-to-read chapters.

  2. Brenna from Esther's Ever After says:

    I read this one recently as well, and I had pretty mixed feelings – I didn’t HATE it but I didn’t love it either. I found it to be fairly forgettable to be honest.

    Like you, I really liked Ry! I thought he was great, but unfortunately he didn’t have enough character development for me to love him. I guess it just didn’t really feel like anything that hadn’t already been done before?

    And yes, it really did feel very MG at times. But I can see how some (likely younger) readers would really enjoy it!

    • Rose Tyler says:

      Yes! That’s pretty much exactly how I feel.
      Ry definitely need some more development. I guess what I meant was that I liked the idea of him, and how he helped Isadora not be afraid of love.
      I agree that MGers will really like it.
      Thanks for tuning in!

Leave a Reply

