Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend

broken-hearts-fences-and-other-things-to-mend-1

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn

Synopsis: Summer, boys, and friendships gone sour. This new series has everything that perfect beach reads are made of!

Gemma just got dumped and is devastated. She finds herself back in the Hamptons for the summer—which puts her at risk of bumping into Hallie, her former best friend that she wronged five years earlier. Do people hold grudges that long?

When a small case of mistaken identity causes everyone, including Hallie and her dreamy brother Josh, to think she’s someone else, Gemma decides to go along with it.

Gemma’s plan is working (she’s finding it hard to resist Josh), but she’s finding herself in embarrassing situations (how could a bathing suit fall apart like that!?). Is it coincidence or is someone trying to expose her true identity? And how will Josh react if he finds out who she is?

Why I Picked It Up: It’s been on my TBR list ever since I first heard about it, and my library just got a copy of it.

What I Liked…and Didn’t Like: To start off, I really enjoyed the characters. Gemma realizes what she did was wrong, and I had to give her points for trying so hard to make amends. Sure, she could’ve found a million ways better to go about fixing it, but I could tell how hard she wanted to make things right – she genuinely felt bad.

Josh was cute and a gentleman to Gemma, but I still think that neither he nor Gemma should have been quite so “in love” with each other right after they had both gone through break-ups and only just met each other. But props to him for going through the lobster roll thing and still liking Gemma.

Hallie…I knew there was something off about her from the beginning. Not going to say too much about her, other than she was being a jerk to Gemma and I could tell – whether or not she was doing it deliberately, well, read it to find out.

One thing I didn’t really like was how Gemma’s parents weren’t really there. They were definitely a key part to the plot, but I never think that we ever got to really know them. I feel like I knew more about her stepfather than her mother.

There were a lot of adorable scenes, along with ones that made me cringe and ones that made me think.

One of the best things about this book was that I was never bored. I wanted to keep reading it, and there was never a time where I debated closing it, like I do with books that just aren’t interesting.

The writing seemed a tiny bit below my typical reading level, but it wasn’t something that bothered me all too much. Just something I noticed.

This would have been a great book to read at the beach, and I think that it is definitely possible to start and finish it within one or two trips to there.

I did predict the ending, much to some of my bookworm friends’ surprise. Since I saw it coming through over half of the book, I didn’t have any strong feelings about it.

You Should Know: Points to Katie Finn for keeping this book clean! I don’t remember any language whatsoever, no violence, no drugs or drinking, kissing is the only romance, and even then it’s pretty non-descriptive.

Who I Would Recommend It To: Fluff readers, you’ll love it. If you’re looking for a fun book to read over the summer, you should definitely check it out. Oh, and this is a good book to recommend to people who don’t read all too often – the plot is bendy, but not too complicated.

Yes, bendy plots are now a thing.

Final Grade: B

There aren’t many things wrong with this book, and even though I really enjoyed it I didn’t completely fall in love with it.

All in all, a great, fun read for the summer.

 

One thought on “Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend

Leave a Reply

