Inspiration

Lately I’ve found that it is getting harder and harder for me to get truly inspired to write. There are so many distractions, so many social media sites that I can click on and get lost in mindless posting for an hour or two. Sure, there can be some pretty heavy things on social media that makes me think, but they don’t inspire me.

So, how do I find inspiration in today’s empty world?

1. Music

Music always stirs something inside me. It can be classical, it can be rock, it can be smooth jazz, it doesn’t matter as long as I have my headphones on a pencil in my hand.

2. Food

Something about the symphony of flavors that is food makes me have the itch of inspiration. One good meal usually means one good story.

3. Old Photographs

Nostalgia (the feeling that overwhelms me when I look at old pictures) is quite possibly the most hard-hitting of all emotions. The definition is: a sentimental longing or wistful affection for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.

Need I say more?

4. Museums

Seeing all of the historical artifacts, knowing that you are connecting with history, has always been an amazing thing for me.

One thing I love to do at a museum that always inspires me is choosing just one thing I see and creating a story around that one object.

5. Books

Quite possibly the most obvious of all five. I bet you all were just waiting for me to say this one.

Yes, books make me want to write. Seeing how an author creates something so wonderful and getting the urge to create something wonderful of my own.

These are all pretty basic things that I do to get inspired, but I hope that they help those who have hit a block and are struggling.

What do you do to get inspired? Do you use any of these tactics?

Leave a Reply

