Blogging Confessions

This was a Top Ten Tuesday a long time ago, and I saved the draft but somehow it never got posted. So I dug it up and thought I would finally post it.

1. I don’t like that people who know me know about my blog

harry-pooter-shrug-gif-1

I didn’t mind having one friend who knew about this blog, since they didn’t talk about it a lot, and of course my family knew about it, but then Crazy Brother told basically everyone about it, and all my friends found out about it, and pandemonium ensued. It still creeps me out that people I don’t even know that well know about StC. And don’t get me wrong, I love that they only say supportive things, but one of the reasons I am known as Rose Tyler is because I prefer anonymity. Hopefully one day I will able to say confidently that I am the authoress of StC, but right now… I’d rather sit back and observe others.

2. I use blogging as an excuse

duh-gif-1

I think we all do this one once in a while.

“Rose, come look at this form you have to fill out for school!”

“I can’t, Mom, I’m working!”

“What? You don’t have a job!”

“Uh, Searching the Clouds is a job!”

Certainly you can understand this one.

3. I get ARC envy

i-want-that-gif-1

Okay, honestly I don’t see how any relatively new bloggers can’t fall victim to this. Basically, it’s like this…you’re contentedly scrolling through [insert one of your favorite book blogs], reading their posts, perfectly happy. Until you see their latest review of the most promising upcoming [insert favorite book genre] book that you wanted badly to get but were denied. And voila! ARC envy strikes again.

4. Bloggers who can make awesome graphics make me sad

how-gif-1

HOW??

5. I don’t have a lot of blogging friends

uh-yeah-gif-1

Don’t get me wrong, there are a ton of people that I love and admire in the blogging community, but though they are friendly, they aren’t necessarily friends with me. Sometimes I find it hard to forge a friendship with people I’ve never met in real life, but then I remember all of my fictional friends and am inspired to try to reach out yet again. So basically…does-anyone-want-to-be-my-friend-gif-1

6. I’m totally in love with the blogging community

i-think-you're-cute-gif-1

Everyone is so friendly! Everyone understand my bookish woes! Everyone is supportive!

Seriously though, if there are other bloggers reading this right now, just imagine I’m giving you a hug right now. You guys are awesome.

 7. I get frustrated with the way my blog looks, but am too lazy to change it

well-yeah-gif-1

I am tired of this old theme, but WordPress won’t allow me to customize a new one without paying for it. So I would have to choose a new WordPress theme, and I can’t find any that I like and allow me to keep my widgets on the side over there. —>          So I am just being lazy and not bothering to change it. It took me a long time to get used to this theme, and I’m not ready to have to get used to another theme just yet.

8. I don’t think that I will ever be consistent with posting

hard-work-sucks-gif-1

Sure, I might be during this fall (or September…or beginning of September…or first week of September) only because I’ve saved up posts during August, but this will probably be the most consistent I’ll be for a while. Planning posts is just too hard, man.

 9. I’m exactly the same in real life

yup-gif-1

Seriously.

10. I love blogging

truth-gif-1

It’s true guys. I didn’t know that there was this much to blogging when I started out, but I’m glad I didn’t. It gave me a chance to learn new things and meet new people, and it is seriously amazing.

Do you have any blogging confessions? 

8 thoughts on “Blogging Confessions

  1. readerlygeek says:

    I’m the same way about my WordPress theme. I’d like my blog to look super nice and sleek, but I just dread looking through all the available themes to find something I like AND is still easy to navigate for my readers.

  2. JB says:

    I completely understand how you feel about people you know knowing about your blog! I don’t mind my friends knowing about The Girls in Plaid Skirts since it’s a project with my two best friends. But I have a personal blog that I don’t want real-life people to know about. I guess I feel like they’ll judge my online persona and compare it to who I am in real life.

    As for your wordpress dilemma, that’s pretty much the only thing I don’t like about wordpress–that you can’t make changes without paying for it! Blogger is better for making design changes, but it’s not perfect, either. I guess we can’t have it all!

    • Rose Tyler says:

      Exactly! I just want my thoughts to be anonymous so that nothing is taken the wrong way.

      If there was a blogging site that was ideal, I haven’t heard of it yet! From what I’ve heard about Blogger, though, WordPress is slightly superior. I just don’t know!

  3. drowninmelancholy says:

    I am exactly the same with the first. I don’t know why, but I don’t want people, like old classmates to see my blog. Yet, I try to be more open about that. I mean, I never post anything shameful on my blog :D

Leave a comment